Just a stranger in the bus…

Awake in bed early this morning, a copy of the New York Times in hand, I was getting increasingly distressed reading about the case that I just wrote about in the previous post: that of Abdul Rahman’s conversion to Christianity, and the hysteria surrounding it.

After all, this is a serious subject. People everywhere are treating it seriously, and rightly so; from the leader of the free world to that of a recently freed portion of it, from the Pope to the Mullahs, and from the blogsters that form my virtual intellectual classroom, to the college students who people my real ones.

But seriousness, as that great prophet of immorality once put it, is nothing but the sign of indigestion and bad metabolism. And of all things, especially seriousness about a subject like this one. Religion. God. What God? Which God? The Right God, or the wrong God? The one that we know, or the one that belongs to them?

I fell asleep reading the story in the paper. Early morning sleep while I should be in class: what joyful abandon! Whoever said that anything was better than twilight sleep? Especially prostration with an aching back before an unbeknownst and contradictory semitic fantasy…

I woke up later to the sound of my radio alarm, and fittingly, a female voice was singing:

What if God was one of us
Just a slob like one of us
Just a stranger in the bus
Trying to make his way home…

9 Responses to Just a stranger in the bus…

  1. Aisha says:

    People sometimes forget about the spirit behind the faith. We were discussing this in a group once and someone was saying how if you are muslim to convert out that is the law. But even if that were true (which I argue is not) even if for arguments sake its true… did he really choose Islam to begin with? He was born in a Muslim family in a muslim country with not much say…. I dont know.

  2. nice.. thanks for coming by my blog. good to see that you share some of the same thoughts!

    i think the qoran or the islamic law needs serious ammendments.. times have changed we need to update the OS (operating system)!

  3. Fawn Libby says:

    Read your comment in my blog – adding link to yours there.

  4. Chic Mommy says:

    This post has been removed by the author.

  5. I do whatever my rice crispies tell me. “The Simpsons” come a close second. Prayer and such are for the birds and they have the flu.

  6. Chic Mommy says:

    Hey there, thanks for stopping by my blog. This is such a hot topic today! I think people need to read the books and make their own opinions. Problem with Third World countries is that most of the population is illiterate and can’t read, so they believe whatever the mullas tell them. If the mullas tell them they will go to hell because they drink a glass of water with their left hand instead of the right, those poor illiterate people will make sure to always drink with their right hand and teach it to their kids too. It’s a shame. That’s why it’s so important to be literate. No wonder the first word revealed in the Quran was IQRA (read).

    Nice blog you got here!

  7. Zak says:

    thanks for dropping by will add you to my bloglist!

    Odd how people focus more on the religion as a cause and less on the judges..to rephase the slogan..religion doesn’t kill people..people kill people..and guess what they use any excuse!
    tha shukar!

  8. Salam,
    Hey thanks for stopping by my blog! I think people should stop blaming Islam for the problems. I don’t think it’s something that needs to be revamped, however I really agree with Chic Mommy it is important to know how to read. Allah has blessed us with the ability so we should really attain it.

    There are a lot of mixed thoughts on this subject. Oh, well.

    Take care.

  9. Leilouta says:

    What if God was one of us
    Just a slob like one of us
    Just a stranger in the bus
    Trying to make his way home…

    I love that song btw :)

Leave a Reply

