B.R.B.

O.K., it’s about time I put a temporary moratorium on blogging – at least for the next couple of weeks. I will not be able to write here, visit blogs, respond to comments, or leave comments at the dozen or so of my favourite blogs (Farsi and English).
It will be hard, but I must do this.

The culprit?

You guessed it right: schoolwork. I have been working on three major projects for the better part of the last semester, and as the academic year -and my college career- is nearing to a close, I must devote undivided attention to these. The first one is my senior capstone project (in other words the fruit of my four years of labor here) and is situated within the thick of IR-theory and Comparative Politics. The latter two are related to Economic Development, my secondary emphasis.

1. A Year-Long Honors Research Thesis:
Titled: “State Formation, Governance, and Post-War Reconstruction in Afghanistan”

(This paper is a historical analysis of the [failed] state formation processes in Afghanistan beginning with the reign of Amir Abdul Rahman Khan and all the way down to the Bonn Process. It’s central argument is that there has never existed a functioning ‘state’ in the proper sense of the word throughout Afghanistan’s history – thanks to the three culprits of: rentierism, primordialism, and patrimonialism. I can post the abstract here if anybody is interested.)

2. An Independent Study Exploring Economic Development:
Tentative Title: “Prospects for Economic Development in Post-Taliban Afghanistan”

3. A Term-Paper for the course “Financial Markets & Institutions”:
Titled: “The Role of Financial Development in Economic Growth”

And so, as some of the more renegade-minded among us undergraduates would say, yet again schooling has proved to get in the way of my true and wholesome education! I bid you kind readers a temporary farewell, and hope that by the time I am back you will not have forgotten Safrang. I will miss our conversations and exchanges.

-Khuda Hafiz o Nasir!

18 Responses to B.R.B.

  1. homeinkabul says:

    Sahib,

    I respect your decision and I am in a similar boat but I refuse to take part. When you have time, please let me know if I may link to your blog.

  2. hamesha: says:

    Of course, homeinkabul, that would be very kind.
    By the way, if by the time I rejoin the blogiverse you have departed for watan, great travels!

  3. Zak says:

    I hope you spend your time wisely Hamesha..best of luck with your studies..your posts are quite interesting. I hope you include some mention of the overcentralisation of development in Afghanistan and it’s excessive focus on Kabul at the expense of the rest of the country. I agree with your comment about no real state..but conversely one should acknowledge the very firm sense of a nation post third anglo afghan war.

    Anyway dont stay away too long! best of luck again Khuda Hafiz

  4. Good luck with the school work. And likewise, thank you for visiting my blog.

    I would be interested in an abstract of your thesis – if only to find out how you treat Aman Ullah. That’s about the only worthwhile monarch we have had(the rest were generally vegetables — and I am feeling very kind and gracious right now).

  5. homeinkabul says:

    I too would like to read the abstract. Good luck with your papers! :)

  6. Q. A. Shah says:

    Hamesha,
    I wish you the best w/ finals and papers. And moreover, with what is to follow after college. An early congrats on graduating too, if I may.

    And, you know, just post the abstract.

    Until your return…q

  7. vasco pyjama says:

    One option is to send your stuff to your blog community to review. You know, using your readers as The Brains Trust. I can always be contacted on vasco_pyjama at livejournal.com, if you are interested.

    Good luck, and see you on your return, mate.

  8. otowi says:

    I pray your studies go well

  9. Maliha says:

    Salaamat,
    You can’t take a break now! I just “discovered” your blog. Those papers sound awesome Mashaallah. All the best in what you do!

    And come back soonest.

  10. Neets says:

    i would like to see the abstract. best of luck for you studies. how long will you be gone? this was a nice blog. focus on your studies do well.
    hey, homeinkabul, how can i visit your blog dude, when you dont have not enabled your profile!! :(
    khuda hafiz!

  11. Anonymous says:

    do you really have a sister named shenaaz?

    if so…how does she spell it?

    These are the questions i am searching for in my blog hiatus…important stuff.

    and i prefer kitchettes. =)

  12. Anonymous says:

    Aabad Baashi.

    Haseeb

  13. Best of Luck in your projects, you are surely destined to do great things. I would love to get a copy of your capstone project if possible when its complete, im very much interested in Politics. My e-mail address is on my blog. Again Best of luck for projects and finals, happy graduation

  14. sume says:

    Good luck with everything! I’d be interested in reading the abstract, too.

  15. Jeevan says:

    All the best for your projects:) Thanks for droping your comment on my blog.

  16. Ahmad Khalid says:

    Good luck with your projects. I too am starting a project on effectiveness of the war on terror in Afghanistan. looking forward to seeing an abstract of your work on your blog. Best wishes!

  17. Janet says:

    Darn. I’ve enjoyed reading your weblog very much. Oh well. Good luck with school! E-mail me sometime.

  18. Jase Pine says:

    Very impressive website, good job

Leave a Reply

