From the short-lived euphoria of a recent graduate

Coming to think of it, those times of regularly updating Safrang may have had something to do with blogging being more exciting than doing schoolwork! No, I am not yet in the used-to-profusion-catchphrase ‘Real world’ to be too busy to post. Just that I am being generally lazy, living up the life of a recent college graduate, catching up on sleep, reading Number 9 Dream, voraciously consuming hollywood (most recently United 93 in theatre, Capote on DVD), listening to everything from Jagjit Singh to Jethro Tull, shooting (mostly photos of a beautiful lake by the house), being with friends and family, and going to one lavish Afghan wedding ceremony. All those promises made to myself while doing schoolwork and preparing for exams till late at night and somehow still managing to regularly post here that Safrang shall never go un-updated again?
Yeah.
Such inconsistency, such lack of loyalty.
But I am genuinely touched by your consistency, the kind visitor here. Thank you for the regular visits and the kind messages (which I hope to reply in another post.) It all encourages me to return and update. Somehow I feel like I owe it to however small a number of people who happen by here to let you know what befell me since last, and yes, to share how I internalize events and occurences in our common reality. For now I am still in that honeymoon stage, the short-lived euphoria of a recent college graduate.
Oh, and here is the evidence. (Yes, that is a pin of Afghanistan’s flag, also appearing to my right in the picture above taken on campus -wanted to make sure everyone understood that I hail from the war-torn place, shall return to it, and wish that my small achievements will one day hopefully contribute to the prosperity of its people.)

18 Responses to From the short-lived euphoria of a recent graduate

  1. Q. A. Shah says:

    Congrats on graduation.

    Glad to hear we may hear more from you yet.

    And nicely done w/ the Afg flag and pin. And is that green thing a Darfur ribbon too?…you hopeless bleeding heart…

  2. sume says:

    Congratulations and best wishes for the future! Enjoy the moment to its fullest for now and pat yourself on the back for a job well done.

  3. hatif says:

    hamisha jan,
    Congratulaaaaaaaaaaations! Mark Johnson says that “more form is of more content”! so I extended the “a”!
    I will write a good Mobaarakbad in persian and either send it to you or post it on my blog,JUST FOR YOU.
    I am so happy. By the way, read Bill Cosby’s ” Congratulations!Now What”. It adds some more smiles.
    good luck, good job,

  4. pumuckl says:

    congratulations! well done. I remember how I felt when I graduated: finally this academic thing is achieved, something to show that undoubtedly counts, and the world open and to my feet. this feeling of freedom was and still is so overwhelming. hmm, I guess since then I never committed myself for staying longer than one year in one place…. wish you all the best for the many ways you can take now!

  5. Congrats! I should have gone to mine, but I refused to wear the whole getup but the school refused. So I ordered mine through mail and slept blissfully through the day.

  6. Jawad Zeerak says:

    Hamesha Jan,
    I have congratulated by writing to you, on the phone, and I thought I should post it on your blog as well…to let everyone know that I love you and I am as happy as I would have graduated myself…or probably more…
    Also to let you know that tonight was my graduation ceremoney for my foundation studeis last year…
    I will write you more about this later…
    Khuda Hafiz

  7. Julaybib says:

    Congrats also

    Wasalaam

    Yakoub

  8. senorrrita says:

    Congratulations! I recognize your graduation cords. You graduated with honors, yes? :-) I had those as well when I was an undergrad but I got it from one of those honor societies–can’t remember which one. It was either Golden Key NHS, Psi Chi or NSCS. Anyways, yes, CONGRATS! wooo!

  9. Vasco Pyjama says:

    Well done mate. So when you going to get yourself here?

  10. Shabana says:

    Mubarak sha!

    (Did I get that right? I got it off an Afghan jihad nasheeds tape I bought in the 80s.)

    I pray that your work will contribute enormously to that beautiful amazing sadly war-torn land. Ameen.

  11. Ahmad says:

    Great to hear from you again, Hamesha. And congratulations on your achievement. It’s a milestone in your life. You have done it. Take your time. Be proud and celebrate. Recuperate before you prepare for what lies ahead for you.

    Coincidentally, the Bloggger censorship has just been lifeted here in Pakistan–a few minutes ago. Yours was the first blog I remembered to visit. The news of your graduation delighted me.

    Keep updating Safrang or start something new. Your thoughts are too good to go to waste.

    Hope to hear from you again.

  12. Ahmad says:

    COngratulations

  13. at your suggestion, we’ve posted a review of Paradise Now at the muslim movie review blog… please let us know what you think

  14. Congrats. What is next for Hamesha? Grad school? Job?

  15. […] summer when I was still an euphoric recent graduate and not yet the cynic that I am now, fully disenchanted by this town’s ways and means, I used […]

  16. Shaharzad says:

    Congratulations! May your feet take you to the best places possible.. I wish you happiness, laughter, travel, discovery, learning and whatever you wish… Life is waiting for you with all its possibilities..

  17. Ahmadi says:

    Salam Javid! Congratulation ! Well done bro. we are proud of you. I am a second year student in university, have become lazy lately and a little deppressed, you give some new energi and inspiration. All the best baradar…

Leave a Reply

