Day of Silence and Moratorium on the T-Word

To mark the barbaric beheading recently of Ajmal Naqshbandi, and because I have a blogger’s block today (ridiculous, I know, but a clear side-effect of taking this whole blogging thing too seriously,) I am announcing a day of silence on Safrang.

Further, in commiseration and solidarity with the journalists in Afghanistan who have called for a ban on reporting about you know who, I will stop using the reviled T-word from now on for a week.

Tomorrow I will be back with a long and long delayed response to Matt Weem’s comments about my earlier post about his work.

UPDATE:

I just read that Kurt Vonnegut died yesterday. Needless to say his passing away also has clear and direct implications on the subject matter of this blog (i.e. Afghanistan and the inexorable march of history), and so the day of silence applies to his memory as well.

2 Responses to Day of Silence and Moratorium on the T-Word

  1. Joshua Foust says:

    I don’t know why, but this post is the first time I’ve thought of comparing you-know-what to Ms. Rowling’s you-know-who and the death eaters. That is a weirdly appropriate analogy.

  2. J.Z. says:

    Josh,
    Your analogy was initially lost on me and I had to wiki-ducate myself about Ms. Rowling’s fictional world. I guess not having read the HP series places me in yet another kind of minority, at least here in the US – that, and not having watched the Star Wars series.
    All the same I am glad that this post prompted the analogy between the you know whos and you know whats -and also for your first comment here on Safrang. Huray.

Leave a Reply

